UPDATE: A Toddler Room

UPDATE:  We recently had Anna Drake’s room professionally shot by the talented, Ben Finch of Finch Photography.  Anna Drake’s room is also featured on Project Junior.  Here is a gallery of the “finished room.”

 

My obsession with the color coral continues in Anna Drake’s toddler room.  We went with a coral and gray color scheme for her nursery, as featured on Project Nursery.  I wanted to break away from the elephants and the color gray, but keep the coral going.  When I found this Thibaut fabric at a fabric store here in Knoxville, my creative juices started flowing.  (I adore Thibaut!!!)

IMG_0219

I opted to do two twin upholstered headboards, with a Caribbean blue accent color, and simple creamy white bedding.  My absolute favorite part of the makeover?  Creating monogrammed appliquéd pillow shams.

IMG_1449

I’ve always loved Leontine Linens and wanted to create the look myself.  So, I ironed heat bond to the back of my Caribbean blue fabric, then used my Silhouette Cameo to cut the fabric letters, ironed them on the off-white fabric, and finally the tedious part…I sewed the appliqué stitch.

Once the monogram was finished, I sewed the pillow together.  Equally as challenging were the roll pillows.  I love making my own piping/trim, but sewing it to form a perfect circle was difficult to say the least!

And if you’re looking for a shortcut when creating a custom room like this, use an existing bed skirt and sew on top of it!  That’s what I did and since the store bought bedskirt was white, it gives the skirt a lined effect.

For artwork, I framed Molly Idle prints from her book Flora and the Flamingo (one of Anna Drake’s favorites).   Above each headboard, I hung these feathered art decor from Pottery Barn Kids.  These two bits of whimsy keep the look youthful.  Please excuse the bed safety rail in the photo below…I’m having some professional photos of this room taken in the coming months, so until then, these rails will be kept in place as they are a pain to install!

IMG_2595

The best part about this room?  Anna Drake loves sleeping in her big girl bed.  We involved her in every step of the process, which helped her embrace the idea of giving up the crib.  She made the transition several months before Bear was born in May, which gave me just enough time to start on his nursery.   Those photos will be coming soon!

Leave a Reply

