BEFORE & AFTER: Foyer Fixation

Who doesn’t love a good makeover?  Our foyer got a big one recently.  Just look at this “before” photo:

image-3

Where to begin???  Though it’s a sentimental piece, the large bench is just out of place in the foyer.  It landed here the day we moved in, and there it stayed (for way too long!)  The pillows softened the bench a bit, but it really wasn’t the warm and inviting welcome I wanted.  The artwork needed to go somewhere else too…  My vision for the entryway stopped at the idea of a skirted table, like these on Pinterest.

I also knew I wanted to use fabric on the walls instead of wallpaper.  Check out these inspirational photos from one of my favorite fabric designers, Thibaut.  Once I found this Waverly fabric from the Williamsburg Collection, the color scheme was locked down.  Installing the fabric on the walls was quite simple and only required these tools:

  • container of liquid cornstarch
  • paint roller
  • painter’s tray
  • x-acto knife
  • straight edge
  • push pins
  • fabric (of course!)

I followed this tutorial I found on Pinterest.  Stephanie at Cre8tive Designs has great photos with step-by-step instructions too.  You may feel a little out of control as you attach the first big, wet, heavy piece of fabric to the wall and drive in the push pins at the top to hold the weight, but as you start to smooth out the bubbles and the cornstarch begins to dry, confidence builds!  Have gumption!

Once the first piece is in place, you can remove the push pins and then start rolling the second piece with the cornstarch; just make sure to match your seams when it’s time to throw the second piece up on the wall!  Here is Michael rolling the wall for extra coverage, before sticking the piece over the door to the powder room.

IMG_8152

I waited until Day 2 to go back and make my cuts with the x-acto knife, not because it needed to dry overnight, but because I was too tired to finish!  The trimming part requires the most precision, so a well rested set of eyes (and arms) is probably best.  And while these photos solely show Michael in action, I promise I shared in the hard work!

PicFrameFor the skirted table, I went with a bold, large scale green and white geometric patterned fabric.  I found it at Mill Agent here in Knoxville, long before I started the foyer makeover.  It works perfectly with the Waverly fabric for the walls, even though they’re not made by the same designer.  I love the box pleated look, and that thick border at the bottom really grounds it.  I added matching sleek gold lamps, a tall gold mirror, some design books, my cherished bowl of sea urchins (handpicked in the BVI) and some photos.  At the last minute, I pulled in the yellow garden stool for a pop of color. I felt like I needed to break up the green!  Voila!

TheDaniels-65

A little gallery of the details…

And one last look at both the before and after, side-by-side:

IMG_9584

 

A big shoutout to the photographer is in order, Ben Finch of Finch Photography.

I decided I loved this room so much that it would also serve as the backdrop for our family’s Christmas card! Coming soon…

Leave a Reply

