Delayed Gratification

Living in the BVI has not only taught me to have patience, it has given me a lesson in gratitude. And in many cases, we are talking delaaaaaaaayed gratification, weeks and weeks. Once I went nearly 4 months without an everything bagel! (Gasp!)

It’s all about expectations. If you go into RiteWay (the grocery store in town) expecting each and every time to get all of the items on your list, you will leave disappointed each and every time. After a few months of looking at life that way, your thinking changes or you leave island! Ha!

And you would think, following a stint in Manhattan where we could get anything we wanted delivered to our door, that we’d be ruined! Or at the very least, we would require a re-boot upon moving back. It’s been an easy transition though, in part because I like living this way.

It’s such a nice surprise to walk into the grocery and find a fully stocked produce aisle and as a friend pointed out on Facebook, the strawberries weren’t growing mold!

20130115-092600.jpg

While I am not one for making New Year’s resolutions, I did start a gratitude journal. There are plenty of apps to choose from. I went with “gratitude diary” – it even syncs with The Cloud so it’s available on my iPad and my iPhone.

What are you grateful for? For me, it’s fresh strawberries today!

One response to “Delayed Gratification

  1. Hey there, I found your blog while I was looking for some yardage of Lilly fabric called Island Hopping. We too are transplanted Southerners that live the island life in Nassau, Bahamas. Loved seeing your adventures in the city. you have to live without “conveniences” to really appreciate them. I blog at http://www.imnotabloggermom.blogspot.com
    Take care.

Leave a Reply

