Our Neighbors: the Paparazzi

Lindsay Lohan and her hit & run ways are causing a stir in our quiet little neighborhood, Chelsea. News crews line the street in front of the Dream Hotel on W 16th, which is just a few blocks from us.  At first I felt a little silly taking a photo of a paparazzi today, but then I reminded myself what he does for a living, and if being on the receiving end of my lens bothered him, maybe that’s a good thing – a taste of his own medicine.

But what struck me the most was the amount of people being put to work because of this overnight celebrity gaffe.  As we walked by “the scene,” vans full of video equipment, light kits, and reels and reels of cable were being unloaded.  The seven live trucks were only the beginning.

 20120919-132505.jpg

In the spirit of full disclosure, I am a former television reporter.  I can identify with the guys and gals sitting in the front seat of those live trucks waiting for something to happen.  And while I’m sure there were times I was waiting on something much less spectacular than Lindsay Lohan leaving her hotel, it just struck me as silly.

It also made me think…is there a live truck on the entire island of Tortola?  I don’t think I’ve ever seen one!

Leave a Reply

