Salt! Salt! Where’s the Damn Salt?

While I’ve never stepped foot onto Salt Island in the BVI, the dinner I prepare tonight is going to taste like it!  Do you see that big salt pond in the middle of the island???

tumblr_m4zna22QVL1rvcl4ko1_1280

Well, BVIslanders extract salt from the pond and at least one pound of it is given to the Queen of England as a yearly rent payment.  Fair price to pay for an entire island, right?  The island is uninhabited currently, and it’s never had more than three residents at any given time.  It’s between Peter Island and Cooper Island, just across the channel from Tortola.

So how did this Royal salt get to my dinner table?  It started with Facebook.  Check out this post on the BVI Community Board Facebook page:

Screen Shot 2013-04-16 at 12.19.55 PM

Excited at the prospect of finally getting my hands on this salt, I headed down to the Virgin Queen (which is a pizza restaurant, if you’re not familiar), and sure enough, behind the building, across the street, there was Alcedo “Cat” Hodge with his salt on display!  He sold me two bags for “tree dollars each.”

photo(1)

I have to admit, I was a bit intimidated because “Cat” wasn’t alone.  He had six or seven other men there watching over the salt.  They were all very nice, and they seemed pleased that I was so pleased with my big bags of Salt Island salt!  They didn’t mind me whipping out my phone to snap a photo either.

If you know me at all, you know that I love salt.  And today’s purchase means that I finally get to use the salt pig gifted to me at Christmas.  I guess I was just waiting on the right salt to come along, and salt from her Majesty’s Salt Island fits the bill!  Here’s my pig, in all her glory!  Isn’t it pretty?

photo(2)

All this blogging about salt, and I’m thirsty!  Off to get some water!

Leave a comment